My son is 8

I cannot quite wrap my head around the fact that he is 8. Maybe it is because I see so little of him, or maybe time really does go faster when you get older. It seems strange that my daughter is almost 15 months old, so I suspect the latter.

He had a great time on his birthday. A party on Saturday with all his classmates from school. We talked on the phone and he told me all about his presents.

And I think this was the first time I have been happy on Sprog’s birthday.

Parenting Lamia has flipped a switch in me. Instead of Sprog’s milestones depressing me, it is Lamia’s milestones that make me think wistfully of Sprog. I realize what I missed by not seeing him eat his first bite of food, crawl across the room, pull himself up on my leg. And somehow, on his birthday, it is about Sprog now. Not about me missing him.

4 Responses to “My son is 8”

  1. Good stuff. Happy birthday Sprog. πŸ™‚ Regina

  2. You’ve grown and changed so much. Good for you. And that’s good for Sprog too.

    Happy late birthday to Sprog. πŸ™‚

  3. Happy birthday to Sprog.

  4. I just found your blog. Thanks for sharing. Happy birthday to Sprog.

Leave a Reply

