Mama, I am skeered!

I am scared witless that, despite lip service and assurances, when it comes time to put the proverbial pen to paper people’s inner racist will dig its claws in.

I do not consider myself a racist, but I will not deny that there are certain remnants deep inside. I am a product of my environment after all, and my childhood was spent in a small town in the deep South. My parents will be voting for McCain, I can guarantee that (although they would be regardless of the color of his opponent’s skin).

My fear is that people will balk at the last moment, that they will decide that the guy who looks reassuringly like their grampa is a better choice.

Vote Obama. Please.

Even though Hussein is a really unfortunate middle name in these dark times.

5 Responses to “Mama, I am skeered!”

  1. Well said πŸ™‚

  2. Ditto to all you said (even down to the Rents and their views)

  3. Speaking of ‘rents and their views … check this out, it’s a hoot: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxvHkFLmqRk

    I was in Lowes a few weeks ago and a 60-something white guy struck up a conversation about the garage floor paint that I had in my cart. Somehow he turned the convo to the election, and he wanted to know what I thought of “Sarah”. I decided that I wanted to try to actually influence his vote, and didn’t know him well enough to use profanity, so I put on my best down country speech cadence and told him my concerns about her, and how she’s just a heartbeat away … We went back and forth on a few fluff policy issues he raised, and then he leaned into me with his voice low and he said “I just don’t trust him…”

    So yes, I’m scared, too. That gut feeling that someone has who was raised anytime before the 70’s, in an environment, if not of fear, of inequality. One must overcome odds to trust someone when there’s a perceived imbalance of power.

    But I take heart in all the new voters out there … the young adults and the AA voters feeling like they have a voice for the first time. They are going to carry our sorry white middle-aged asses. πŸ™‚

  4. 21:30 and I am quietly hopeful.

    Last election I thought Bush could not possibly win after what he put the country through the previous four years. Imagine my surprise…

    Ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease. No more surprises.

  5. Adding my ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease… and very tentatively exhaling just the tiniest bit. Because really, no more surprises. Please!

Leave a Reply

