Now I am a Real Parent

Not only have I changed diapers and wiped boogers, I have now experienced the dubious honor of spending an evening in the emergency room with a sick kid.  We took her in because she had a high fever and we are paranoid, and while we were there she puked up everything she has ever eaten on the hospital floor. Incidentally, they are woefully low on janitorial staff (we cleaned up the barf with a paper towel and nobody ever appeared to do a proper job).

Diagnosis: “Vomiting without blood”.

Yeah.

Anyways, she did not die and has recovered just fine, although she is not interested in eating anything other than cereal and toast.

I guess I put this one next to my “campfire” badge.

3 Responses to “Now I am a Real Parent”

  1. I’m so glad she’s doing well! Now I can LOL! When I saw the title of this post, I guessed it — it just had to be vomit.

  2. I took my kid to the physician because he had diarreha (sp?) all the time and I couldn’t figure out what was causing it. The doctor diagnosed him with “chronic idiopathic diarreha.” I said, “doesn’t that just mean diarrea that won’t go away and you don’t know what is causing it either?”

    Doc said, “Um, yeah.”

  3. Welcome to the ER Club, Daddy-O.

    I’ve already been twice this year and I’m expecting that number to rise as the years roll on by.

    I love those non-specific yet scientific diagnoses, don’t you? Every word they write down costs a hundred bucks, I suspect.

Leave a Reply

