Random thoughts

Has Obama’s “lipstick on a pig” comment cost him the election? He seems to be digging himself a deeper hole the more he tries to justify it (anyone see Letterman the other night?). On the upside, if he does become president, looks like we still have some material for Letterman’s Great Presidential Speeches segment.

The Republicans are a tricksy bunch. Putting a woman in as the vice-presidential candidate was a stroke of genius. Now those who wanted to vote for Hillary because they wanted to see a woman in power will have someone to vote for. Also, rednecks with guns will have someone to vote for. I wonder, if Hillary was running for the Democrats, whether McCain would have found himself a black running mate. Points to ponder.

September 11 is still a sobering day. I have NASA’s picture of the day in iGoogle. I am glad my daughter was not born today.

My daughter turns 1 year old next week. OMGWTFBBQ?!

My son turns 8 years old this year. OMGWTFBBQ?!

I want an apron featuring the body of a naked man with a six pack. Anyone know where I can get one?

Why does the grass in my back yard grow faster than the grass in the front yard?

I no longer care about drinking alcohol. I do not miss it in the slightest, even when people around me are drinking.

I dropped my iPod and it still works. To be honest, l am a little cheesed about that because I want an excuse to get an iPhone.

10 Responses to “Random thoughts”

  1. . To be honest, l am a little cheesed about that because I want an excuse to get an iPhone.

    Drop it again! I love the iPhone!

  2. I agree — drop it again! Maybe in the tall grass in the back yard?!

    As the possessor of a uterus, I don’t think people inclined to vote for Hillary are going to go wholesale for Palin. I won’t. Not all uteruses are created equal . . . .

  3. No war did that comment cost Barack Obama the election. Republican “outrage” (all staged) has one purpose alone: to get Democrats to apologize, like we usually do.

    Here’s what I want to see on bumper stickers all over this country: Picture a line drawing McCain and Palin standing together a little to the right and in front of Bush and Cheney with the caption “Liptstick on a pig.” It’s the TICKET that he was referring to! Let’s grab it, run with it, and let the Republicans howl!

    And while we’re at it, we should be relentless in asking Palin how she supported having rape victims in the state with the highest rape stats pay for their own rape test kits. Yes, folks, under Palin’s term, if you were raped in Wasilla, Alaska and you wanted the state to do something about it, you had to pay for it yourself.

    Sorry to rant, but I get so upset when I see Democrats backing down on the lipstick comment and others. We should be shouting this stuff from the rooftops.

    Good Dem blog, BTW is the Daily KOS: http://www.dailykos.com/.

  4. And of course I meant “no way.” 🙂

  5. I think Obama needs to get back on the message that binds people together, rather than engage in this tete-a-tete. This gets us nowhere and divides. Judith Warner had a great NYT column yesterday, and within it she linked to a great paper on “What Makes People Vote Republican?”: http://edge.org/3rd_culture/haidt08/haidt08_index.html

    I think the paper is spot on – at the end of the day, it’s what is familiar and comfortable and makes us feel a sense of community and safety that moves us. Obama’s message of Hope – strikingly resonating Regans New Day in America – is the message he’s got to get back to. Ignore the qualifications/sexism/voting record/elitism worlds, they’re a game he’s going to lose badly. That’s where you lose, when you get off message and get into these character/morality plays.

    So come on, Obama camp, get your shit together and get back to what you’re really good at – messaging hope, a new day and a new beginning. Because it’s going to take more than knowing how to field dress a moose to get our economy, health care systems, foreign affairs and energy policies moving in a different (better) direction.

    JMHO

    Regina

  6. malinda said:
    “As the possessor of a uterus, I don’t think people inclined to vote for Hillary are going to go wholesale for Palin. I won’t. Not all uteruses are created equal . . . .”

    Not all uteruses (or testicles, not to be sexist here) are attached to a brain that does thinking either. You and I are smart and educated enough to realize what is spin and what is worth listening to, but there are those out there who will believe the hype and vote accordingly. There also exist those feminists who will let certain elements of their feminist agenda stand in the way of other, more worthwhile, ideals (such as McCain’s planned Roe vs Wade reversal).

    I agree with you Regina, Obama needs to get out of the personal mud slinging and back into bringing a message of hope to the people. We should be voting for the policies, not the personalities.

    I have said it before, and I will say it again. Politics attracts the kind of people who should never be allowed to run a country.

  7. paragraphein Says:

    I agree with Regina. Personally I don’t think the Dems should apologize, just that they should ignore all this crap. Go back to talking about hope. Just ignore McCain and Palin. Treat them as if they are non-entities and not even worthy of a response, and let all this crap die down.

    Maybe it’s just me, but the more Obama fights back, the more worried I get that McCain might actually win. And if that happens…. (shiver).

  8. paragraphein Says:

    P.S. Good to see you back. My new blog addy: http://livinglearningwriting.wordpress.com/

    So far it’s got nada to do with adoption though, just boring every-day life stuff.

  9. Good to see the everyday life stuff. Too much adoption rhetoric can weigh a person down.

    I agree with you about the fear that McCain might actually win. Terrifying. And the problem with mud-slingers is they bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

  10. paragraphein Says:

    “And the problem with mud-slingers is they bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience.”

    Ha!!!!!! So true.

Leave a Reply

