Fear and loathing

Damn. I take a hiatus and another one bites the dust. Sad to see you go, Kim.Kim.

I have still been reading though. Just not moved to write, until now. I guess creativity must be related to the level of psychological wellbeing, because I find I am more likely to write when things are going badly. Anyways, I was reading Dan and I can’t not say something about this. And, most specifically, this.

Overturning Roe vs Wade

OK, not specifically adoption related, but I feel compelled to speak from my pro-choice perspective. Is it just me, or does “as president he will nominate judges who understand that courts should not be in the business of legislating from the bench” sound suspiciously like “as president he will nominate judges who will toe the party line”? The case was already heard in a court of law. The ruling was made. Deal with it.

Have you ever had a decision that you just could not make, so you flipped a coin, and then when you flipped the coin you decided that what you really wanted was the other outcome, so you went with it? That is what this feels like to me. If it does not work out how you wanted, you flip again and again until you get your desired outcome.

Quit flipping, McCain. The coin has spoken.

Promoting adoption

Christ. Where do I begin?

John McCain will seek ways to promote adoption as a first option for women struggling with a crisis pregnancy.” (emphasis mine)

Argh. Argh. Argh. /headwall

He will: “prohibit discrimination against families with adopted children, … provide adoption education, and … permit tax deductions for qualified adoption expenses, as well as … remove barriers to interracial and inter-ethnic adoptions.”

All great and noble ideals. And will he:

  • prohibit discrimination against single parents
  • prohibit shutting biological fathers out of the adoption and decision process
  • provide assistance for families in a crisis pregnancy situation

Oh, and what exactly will his “adoption education” entail? Will it educate parents on the psychological and emotional fallout in the wake of adoption? Provide information on what open adoption actually is and exactly how enforceable it is not? Explain the ways in which you may be manipulated by the agency you believe is working on your behalf?

Protecting marriage

John McCain believes the institution of marriage is a union between one man and one woman.” (emphasis mine)

He believes it. He apparently believes this gives him the right to force everyone else to live by his beliefs.

I believe he is evil incarnate. So… it is OK for me to kill him, right?

He scares me. A lot.

8 Responses to “Fear and loathing”

  1. I am just really glad you are back.

    And yeah … Obama for me, if I could vote down there that is! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You’re so smart. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I agree with you. This: โ€œJohn McCain will seek ways to promote adoption as a first option for women struggling with a crisis pregnancy.โ€ (emphasis mine) really gives me the willies too.

  4. hello brad. how are you. missed you. hope the your two babes are well.
    oh, and pleasantries aside, i agree.
    scary scary scary.

  5. He scares me too. Thank god he isn’t wanting to run my country.
    ICK.
    Be very very afraid US peeps.

  6. The “first option” comment is gaggable. And the adoption tax credit provides ZERO savings to adoptive parents — you know, that whole economics 101 thing that says if there’s more demand than supply, the price to the consumer is not affected by tax policies. The agencies merely up their rates to compensate for the tax credit … because they CAN.

    And then those agencies would use the extra money for educating single parents on how to raise their child, hiring private investigators to find “unknown fathers”, and providing financial assistance to help families stay together. Hahahahahaha … I’m laughing myself to tears ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. Thanks for the welcome back.

    (I am doing good thanks Suz, you? The kids are awesome.)

    Thankyou all for agreeing with me. It gives me some small hope that the world is not completely crazy.

Leave a Reply

