Panic! In the nursery

OK, so far there is no nursery. We have 8 weeks until the due date. Hence the panic. I have to sort through an entire room of junk which for some reason holds sentimental value to me, despite it being things like 2400 baud modems, my favorite t-shirt from when I was 17, and a broken waffle maker. We are still waiting on the crib to arrive, we have no bedding and no newborn underwear, and I am waiting until the last moment to get the car seat fitted because… uh… because…. ah, because I will need to put the back seat down to fit the crib in there when it finally arrives at the store.

In other news, I got a fathers day card this year, hand created and signed by Sprog. I feel a little guilty because of our lack of visitation this year. They talked of coming to see us after the baby is born, but I am not sure how I feel about that. Kind of like this time is just for the three of us. I suspect even my wife is going to have a hard time prying this baby out of my hands this time.

7 Responses to “Panic! In the nursery”

  1. kimkim Says:

    Maybe it’s good to get some friends in to help clear the room, do you have a sponsor or friends from the program? I think it’s more fun to do it with other people and you will feel supported. It has to be a very emotional time for you triggering as well as exciting and wonderful. You don’t have to have visitors straight away after baby is born, that’s ok to have some space for your new family situation.
    I am glad to read your post, I have been wondering how you were doing.

  2. awww. good luck to you and mama and both your children. do what is best for you.

  3. Can I be honest? WAIT a few months for the initial visit. We had our first visit at just over one month of age and, uhm, overwhelming doesn’t begin to cover it. Wait until the kiddo is doing something that looks like sleeping through the night. (I say looks like because… that could take 18 years. Muahahaha.)

    That said, eight weeks is plenty of time to do a room. In this room here we also have old modems, a light fixture and a broken lint roller. We’re awesome!

  4. Regina Says:

    Well the good news is that newborns don’t give a rat’s ass about nurseries, and generally hate cribs and toys and such. R was quite content sleeping in his carseat for the first ten weeks of his life. He in fact screamed every time we put him in his crib. Oh, and MUCH easier to have newborn in room with you than elsewhere. We had a sidecar crib/cosleeper we used as well which was great.

    So, other than cheap cotton onesies (of which you should have plenty) and a carseat, you don’t need much else before the birth.

    Hang in.

    Regina

  5. Im so excited for you!!! I agree.. wait for the visit. Jenna will be sending you a daddy sling as a shower gift (She has plenty!! and it will give her a reason to buy one she is DYING to have.. HEHEHE) Then your hands will be free.. for other things.

  6. Modems make nice blocks … and CPUs make nice mobiles. Take it from me. 😉

  7. Jensboys Says:

    Waiting, waiting waiting for the baby is here update!

Leave a Reply

