Happy Tofurky Day!

Actually I still refuse to touch Tofurky (sorry Tofurky-peeps, I am sure it is very tasty but I still have my doubts about soybeans masquerading as meat). Way too Tofakey. But we did enjoy some yams, green beans, mashed potatoes and squash. I would share the delectable recipes, but in truth all I did was beat the potatoes into submission with a wooden spoon.

I have much to be thankful for today. I am thankful every day to live in such a beautiful city (but let’s not talk about the drivers OK?), in the home that I own (technically the bank owns most of it but if I sold it I could pay them back and still have six figures left over) with my beautiful wife and two exceptional dogs. I am thankful that my wife is a brilliant cook (and could also be a spectacular hooker if she wanted), that I have a job where I am paid to do something that I enjoy (banging on stuff until it breaks) and that I am able to get through every day clean and sober. I am thankful for my son, thankful beyond belief that I get to see him and talk to him on the phone and get crazy crayoned pictures from him – all this because his parents are incredibly good and forgiving people. I am thankful for my great friends who have kept me sober, cheered me on and been there for me on the many occasions when I fell down again. I am thankful for the music which inspires. More than anything, I am thankful for second chances (and third and fourth and…). Yeah. I have had so many.

I am thankful to live in this world. Which is huge for someone who until a few months ago spent all his time trying to run away from it.

One Response to “Happy Tofurky Day!”

  1. and i am thankful you are here as a dad sharing your story.
    (and I love the comments on your wife. how very sweet).

Leave a Reply

