Ubiquitous zealot

Twelve step programs turn me into a raving, preachy maniac. Got a problem? Ah, step 6 will help with that. Like a tendril of ivy, this thread of consciousness insinuates itself into every aspect of my life and, by turn, my friends’ lives.

Is this a bad thing? Weeeelll… I do not like to be preachy. People in glass houses, and all. I am dangerously underqualified to be spouting this sort of ideology to my adoring public (frighteningly more adoring than I had realized, in some cases). Perhaps these well-meaning attempts to heal the wounded, kindred spirits are misguided. I probably sound judgemental, and I have no hallowed ground on which I can stand and hurl accusations at any other being.

“How can you say to your brother, ‘Allow me to extract the straw from your eye’; when, look! a rafter is in your own eye? Hypocrite! First extract the rafter from your own eye, and then you will see clearly how to extract the straw from your brother’s eye.” (New World Translation of the Holy Scriptures, Matthew 7:4-5).

I can’t promise that I will try, but I will try to try.

5 Responses to “Ubiquitous zealot”

  1. You didn’t sound at ALL judgmental. You sounded… like a 12-step book. Which is in itself sorta preachy. I mean, it’s the little book telling you how to live a healthy life. And all this stuff about not referencing literature that is not AA or NA or Al-Anon (whichever program you happen to be in literature? Um yeah, first time I heard that it sounded frighteningly like my Bible classes of yester year… “ONLY the Bible is divinely inspired; you can ONLY rely on GOD’S WORD for direction” blah blah blah. There is just no escaping the preachiness factor of it.

    Anyway. Point is… you were just trying to pass along thoughts. And they came out preachy, because that is how the darn stuff comes out. I’ve done it too, when I try to write a post on an adoption message board or a blog entry about how I finally learned to be happy. Don’t MEAN for it to be preachy, but it comes out that way. It’s hard to share something you’ve learned without it sounding judgmental.

    However. You shared with ME. And I’ve already learned this difficulty of sharing wisdom without getting preachy. It is HARD.

    So let me put any discomfort to rest: you did not offend. You did not judge. I do not think you are a jackass trying to remove my splinter while you have a plank. You weren’t casting stones from a glass house, because you weren’t JUDGING… just sharing insights.

    I do not think you are some hypocrital person climbing on a pulpit and preaching about the dangers of sin on Sunday and then going out and partying on Monday. OK?

    What I think you are is a very good friend, who has been a HUGE support to me–more than you might realize–in the past few days. Someone who will always be special to me as a result.

    Now. As for your adoring public… can’t allay your fears there. =) You’ll just have to face it–the feather boa image we all have ingrained in our minds is too sexy to ignore. (wink)

  2. ROFLMAO. Sorry, the image of me anywhere near a pulpit without the divine fires of heaven raining down upon my tarnished soul is causing convulsions. Even more so if I add the pink feather boa.

    Thank you for taking my thoughts in the manner in which they were intended.

    Making a mental note to curb my habit of regurgitating little books, Big Books and Basic Texts and concentrate on my own tenuous recovery.

  3. Well fuck, don’t COMPLETELY curb the habit. Who am I gonna turn to for advice?

    You may have learned what you know about addiction the hard way, but you still know it better than most people, and that gives you the potential to be a huge support to others facing it. When you are ready, of course…. not advocating putting your own recovery on the back burner. =)

  4. When I said “Anytime” Nicole, I meant it. Ooooh I can use another cliche here… that’s what friends are for!

  5. Hey would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and
    I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable price?

    Thanks, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

