Sky high days

You know those days where the sky is an impossible shade of blue and you feel like you could float up into the stratosphere? When every leaf is perfectly green, every ripple on the dappled river holds boundless promise, and the smile of a child causes joy instead of paroxysms of guilt? When you start to consider that God might just possibly exist?

Today was not one of those days. Today the sky was clouded over, it was sticky and humid, and there was a pall of sickly yellow-gray discoloring the world. Today the river wallowed stagnant, and the leaves were curling over. Today is not one of those perfect days. Today is a day of hope. Hoping the seeds sown today make tomorrow into that perfect day.

A child smiled at me today and patted my dogs.

5 Responses to “Sky high days”

  1. I’m glad to see you back and journaling. I am wondering if you’ve seen this blog? I saw it, and thought of you. The man who runs it fights for birthfathers.

    http://adoption-givenright.blogspot.com/

  2. loving the layout.

    glad the child smiled.

  3. Hey Brad, been a bit since I wandered over this way. Just wanted to shout out a “hey”. I agree that dreary days are days filled with hope.

    Hope all is well with you. I’m sitting over here thinking about dogfood. I’ll probably blog about that soon… Better than coral, eh? (and I’ve also moved to wordpress. You guys suckered me into it ;), but you can get there from my old homepage)

  4. hey brad. how are you? hmmm?

  5. Can’t wait to read your dog food blog Michelle.

    Now to figure out who “m” is… going to send Brad 007 on a mission maybe?

Leave a Reply

